Grand prix

How are the 2022 Moto2™ and Moto3™ grids shaping up?

Take a look at who’s confirmed to be on the grid in 2022 across the intermediate and lightweight classes

Announcements have been landing left, right and centre across both the Moto2™ and Moto3™ World Championships after the official list of teams competing in 2022 was released just over two weeks ago. 30 riders will line-up on each grid at the opening round in Qatar and here’s exactly who’s confirmed to be there and rumoured to be there.

Team boss Eitan Bitbul has confirmed an all-American line-up next year as Cameron Beaubier remains for a second year, buoyed by a career-best result of fifth last time out in Austin. The five-time MotoAmerica Superbike Champion will be joined by the 2021 MotoAmerica Supersport Champion, Sean Dylan Kelly, who will aim to build on the Grand Prix experience he gained at the 2019 Moto2™ season finale in Valencia when he stepped in for Iker Lecuona.

There’s been no official confirmation from the squad yet as to who either of their riders will be in 2022, but we can almost say for certain that Celestino Vietti will stay on his side of the box for a second season in the intermediate class. That leaves one space, vacated by the MotoGP™ bound Marco Bezzecchi, with Niccolo Antonelli and Stefano Manzi the front-runners following the recent confirmation that Andrea Migno will be staying in Moto3™ for another year.

Again, no official confirmation yet on their 2022 line-up. However, team boss Gino Borsoi did confirm they were very keen to keep 2019 Moto3™ World Champion Albert Arenas for a second year and that looks very likely to happen. Who will be handed the second seat is still unknown, but various media outlets during the Americas Grand Prix were reporting that Jake Dixon would be making a shock return to the squad for 2022.

Sam Lowes remains with the squad for another year and the experienced Brit will be joined by Tony Arbolino, who has made the switch across from Liqui Moly Intact GP.

Sito Pons has put together a seriously strong team for 2022, with the two-time World Champion desperate to challenge for the Moto2™ crown again after two difficult years. Both Aron Canet and Jorge Navarro will make the move across from Speed Up to Kalex and form the 2022 FlexBox HP40 line-up.

Nothing official has been released yet but impressive intermediate class rookie Ai Ogura looks set to stay with the squad for a second year. Thailand’s Somkiat Chantra also appears likely to remain for 2022.

There’ll be continuity in the Italtrans garage in 2022 after they announced they’d be keeping the same rider line-up as this year. Both Joe Roberts and former Moto3™ World Champion Lorenzo Dalla Porta will once again be in blue next year.

Marcel Schrötter sticks with the German outfit for another year and he’ll be partnered by Jeremy Alcoba. The Spaniard will move up from the Moto3™ World Championship to join Jürgen Ling and his intermediate class squad.

There’s only one seat confirmed in the Italian squad so far, after Marcos Ramirez signed a one-year deal at the San Marino Grand Prix. Rumours suggest the second seat is yet to be decided, with current riders Lorenzo Baldassarri and Simone Corsi both in contention for it.

Belgium’s Barry Baltus will remain after signing a two-year deal at the start of 2021. The identity of Baltus’ 2022 teammate is still unknown but we shouldn’t have to wait too much longer with an announcement due in the run-up to the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix.

Pertamina Mandalika SAG Team

Flying Dutchman Bo Bendsneyder is set to enjoy a second year in the squad and he’ll be joined by rookie Gabriel Rodrigo. The Argentinian is confirmed to move up to the lightweight class after seven years in Moto3™.

Aki Ajo once again has two new faces in his Moto2™ box as both Remy Gardner and Raul Fernandez make the move to MotoGP™ in 2022. Pedro Acosta will be hoping he can make the move up with a Moto3™ World Championship in his back pocket. The young Spaniard will be joined by Mallorca’s Augusto Fernandez, who makes the switch from Marc VDS next year.