Grand prix

MotoGP 2021 Jerez MotoGP Test Results – Thursday lap times (4pm) | MotoGP | Crash- Official 2021 MotoGP Post-season Test at Jerez, Spain 2021 Jerez MotoGP Test Results – Thursday lap times (4pm) | MotoGP

Following’s Sunday’s Valencia season finale, MotoGP teams have travelled to Jerez for a two-day test and the last official track action of 2021.

Marc Marquez is absent as he continues treatment for double-vision problems, while Repsol Honda team-mate Pol Espargaro is back on track after withdrawing from Valencia due to rib pain from a huge Saturday highside.

The main task for the factory riders is to continue development work on their 2022 prototypes, which in the case of Yamaha, Ducati, Suzuki and Honda can feature engine upgrades for the first time since the Covid technical freeze at the start of 2020.

KTM’s engine was frozen at the start of 2021, when it left Concessions, while Aprilia has been free to develop this year.

The test marks the debut of the new VR46 Ducati team, plus the heavily revised RNF Yamaha (formerly SRT) and Gresini Ducati (formerly partnered with Aprilia) squads.

After finishing the 2021 season on an A-Spec bike, Andrea Dovizioso has a 2022-spec M1 at RNF, with Darryn Binder on the 2021 model.

All five of next year’s rookies are in action, reigning Moto2 champion Remy Gardner and Tech3 team-mate Raul Fernandez making their second appearances on the RC16 after some laps at the Misano test, while Binder (RNF), Fabio di Giannantonio (Gresini) and Marco Bezzecchi (VR46) get their first taste of MotoGP.

Testing began at 10am and concludes at 6pm, with Takaaki Nakagami dominating the top of the timesheets for much of the day, courtesy of an early lap time on the 2021 Honda, before switching to the 2022 prototype.

But new Gresini rider Enea Bastianini (upgraded from a GP19 to GP21 for next season), factory Ducati title runner-up Francesco Bagnaia and Aprilia’s Maverick Vinales all moved ahead of the Japanese with two hours of testing to go…

2021 Jerez MotoGP Test – Thursday (4pm)
Pos   Rider Nat Team Time Lap
1 ^1 Enea Bastianini ITA Gresini Ducati (GP) 1m 37.402s 38/44
2 ^4 Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP) +0.013s 47/54
3 ^1 Maverick Vinales SPA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP) +0.272s 56/59
4 ˅3 Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) +0.311s 4/50
5 ˅2 Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.408s 28/57
6 ^1 Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP) +0.475s 57/69
7 ^1  Franco Morbidelli ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.482s 46/52
8 ˅3 Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) +0.618s 34/62
9 ^5 Luca Marini ITA VR46 Ducati (GP) +0.747s 50/52
10 ˅1 Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) +0.750s 52/52
11 ˅1 Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) +0.763s 19/45
12 ˅1 Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Racing (RS-GP) +0.804s 32/53
13 ^3 Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16) +0.805s 18/45
14 ^1 Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP) +0.910s 61/61
15 ˅3 Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) +0.944s 6/44
16 ˅3 Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V) +1.078s 6/57
17 = Jack Miller AUS Ducati Lenovo (GP) +1.180s 38/43
18 = Andrea Dovizioso ITA WithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1) +1.196s 40/40
19 = Mika Kallio FIN KTM Test Rider (RC16) +1.874s 6/51
20 ^1 Sylvain Guintoli FRA Suzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR) +2.094s 20/32
21 ˅1 Lorenzo Savadori ITA Aprilia Test Rider (RS-GP) +2.325s 25/27
22 = Raul Fernandez SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16)* +2.363s 39/44
23 ^1 Remy Gardner AUS KTM Tech3 (RC16)* +2.768s 34/41
24 ˅1 Takuya Tsuda JPN Suzuki Test Rider (GSX-RR) +3.534s 38/38
25 ^2 Fabio di Giannantonio ITA Gresini Ducati (GP)* +3.717s 22/28
26 = Marco Bezzecchi ITA VR46 Ducati (GP)* +4.083s 35/36
27 ˅2 Darryn Binder RSA WithU Yamaha RNF (YZR-M1)* +4.347s 35/35

^X Rider is X positions higher than previous hour.
= Rider is same position as previous hour.
˅X Rider is X positions lower than previous hour.

* Rookie

Official Jerez MotoGP records:
Best lap:
Maverick Vinales SPA Yamaha 1m 36.584s (2020)
Fastest race lap:
Fabio Quartararo FRA Yamaha 1m 37.770s (2021)

By Peter McLaren

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *